Ode to a Joke Thief

25 Nov

I wrote a silly joke the other day
  And tweeted it to sundry joy and mirth
  It was a simple gag of humble birth
But still, it bore my punful DNA.
I watched it slowly grow – my comic son
  A child of innocence which aimed to please
  I proudly counted up a few RTs
And thought my entertainment work was done.
But SICKIPEDIA then my joke did steal
  And tweeted it as though it were the source
  Helplessly I watched its change of course
As globally my joke drew mass appeal.
  Childless now I clutch my pointless pen
  The page stares blankly back at me again.

Still tossers

It's only a stolen joke, get over it you big wuss

9 Responses to “Ode to a Joke Thief”

  1. Jesmin November 25, 2011 at 5:59 pm #

    Someone braver than me needs to send this to @_L_M_C_ & co 😉

  2. Harol Bishop November 26, 2011 at 1:25 pm #

    http://www.sickipedia.org/joke/101899
    jacques_aih jacques_aih
    I experimented with drugs as a teenager. I put some laxative in my sister’s cornflakes.
    20 Nov

    http://www.sickipedia.org/joke/207198
    jacques_aih jacques_aih
    “Is that the marriage guidance helpline?” “Sorry, you’re breaking up”
    21 Nov

    • JacquesHattie November 26, 2011 at 1:50 pm #

      Thanks – that neatly illustrates the difference between coincidence and theft.

      • strumpit November 26, 2011 at 2:29 pm #

        What it neatly illustrates is that when you’re the thief,, different rules apply.

  3. JacquesHattie November 26, 2011 at 3:12 pm #

    Rumbled! Yes, I surfed through the sexist and racist shit on Sickipedia, stole a couple of throwaway gags, sat on them for a few months/years, changed them a bit so they weren’t an obvious lift, and then tweeted them to a twitter following than can spot a stolen gag a mile off, claiming them to be my own. I’m a proper devious bastard, me.

  4. David November 26, 2011 at 3:29 pm #

    Coincidences do happen. Sickipedia gets a bad press though because, yes, there are people who cannot make up their own jokes, harvest Twitter for them, then pass them off as their own. The traffic is two-way at times though. The site will credit jokes taken from comedians when they are noticed though and persistent offenders removed. Feel free to contact the site if you notice your jokes being used.

    • JacquesHattie November 27, 2011 at 11:35 am #

      Fair play, and thanks for the response.

      How does @Sickipediabot work? Is it policed at all?

  5. David November 28, 2011 at 11:48 am #

    @sickipediabot is not run by the site.

Leave a Reply

